Skip to main content

5 fast facts on New York’s health equity impact assessment

health equity impact assessment

As of June 22, 2023, New York state hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers are among the New York Article 28 facilities that must file Health Equity Impact Assessment documentation when submitting a Certificate of Need application.

The goal of this change is to “provide information on whether a proposed project impacts the delivery of or access to services for the service area, particularly medically underserved groups,” according to the New York State Department of Health.

To help you better understand the CON HEIA requirement and its impact, we put together five fast facts to get you up to speed and ready to tackle the new requirement.

Multiple facilities are subject to the new requirement

Under the new requirement, the following New York state Article 28 facilities must complete an HEIA requirement criteria form to determine whether they are subject to the new equity assessment:

  • hospitals;
  • ambulatory surgery centers;
  • nursing homes;
  • select diagnostic and treatment centers; and
  • midwifery birthing centers.

1. HEIA guidelines apply to five scenarios

The HEIA requirement applies to CON applications involving new construction or equipment, a new facility operator, a new facility owner as the result of merger or consolidation, a facility acquisition and an updated operating certificate.

2. Four guidelines govern the HEIA requirement

The proposed project impact changes can impact patient access to care, particularly in underserved areas and among populations that are already disadvantaged. Access, in turn, impacts health equity. HEIA requirement criteria address whether a facility’s CON project will:

  • eliminate services or care;
  • reduce by 10% or greater the number of certified beds, certified services or operating hours;
  • expand or add to the number of certified beds, certified services or operating hours by 10% or more; and/or
  • change the location of service or care.

3. HEIA CON submissions must include six documents

If a facility answers yes to just one of the above scenarios, it must submit the following HEIA documents with its CON application:

  • HEIA requirement criteria form: Determines if an HEIA is required;
  • HEIA conflict-of-interest form: Affirms that there is no COI with the entity that performs the equity assessment;
  • HEIA template: Describes the project scope, impact, and mitigation and monitoring plans; and
  • HEIA data tables: Define demographics that facilities must report on impacted populations, e.g., sex, age, race, and insurance and disability status.
  • a full, redacted version of its CON application, which will be shared publicly; and
  • an assessment contract.

4. Facilities must contract with an independent third party to conduct the HEIA

An independent entity must conduct the HEIA. A qualified entity, per the HEIA conflict-of-interest form, has “demonstrated expertise and experience in the study of health equity, anti-racism, and community and stakeholder engagement” and “preferred expertise and experience in the study of health care access or delivery of health care services.”

The entity must be able to produce an HEIA assessment that includes whether and how “a facility’s proposed project will impact access to and delivery of health care services, particularly for members of medically underserved groups.”

5. It takes time to adjust to new compliance requirements

New processes like completing a CON HEIA have a learning curve. It’s normal that New York state Article 28 facilities will need some time to adjust. Despite this, they don’t have to do it alone. There is external help available to better understand and meet these new requirements.

DataGen can help you get more information on CON HEIA requirements, the assessment and the data analysis process. Schedule a time to speak with us today and learn the ways we can support you through this process.


Popular posts from this blog

BPCI Advanced – take advantage of the model extension now

The Bundled Payment for Care Improvement (BPCI) Advanced Model is now open for applications until May 31, 2023. This model provides a unique opportunity to acute care hospitals and physician group practices who are looking to: evaluate their bundle performance; rejoin if they have previously dropped out due to being under a convener; or take advantage of the changes to the model. With a small window to sign the participation agreement, you’ll need experts to process data quickly and accurately for evaluation. BPCI Advanced Program Details The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) announced in October 2022 that this program will extend from January 2024 to December 2025. Data used for evaluation will be taken from the baseline period between October 2018 and September 2022. A participation agreement will be sent out in September 2023 and needs to be signed by October 2023 in order to participate. Those who apply before the May 31 deadline will benefit

You’ve been accepted to the Enhancing Oncology Model. Now what?

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Innovation Center recently announced approved applicants for the new Enhancing Oncology Model. If your facility has been selected by CMS, are you still weighing your options during the current baseline evaluation period?  Two deciding factors may include the program data that CMS provides and whether EOM is enough of an improvement over the prior Oncology Care Model to make your investment worthwhile. Another factor to consider: Will you have the resources in place to conduct a baseline evaluation before EOM’s program start on July 1, 2023? How EOM differs from OCM EOM aims to improve the coordination of oncology care, drive practice transformation and reduce Medicare fee-for-service spending through episode-based payment. It includes three major updates: Fewer cancer types. Compared with OCM’s 21, EOM will be limited to seven common cancer types: breast, prostate, lung, small intestine/colorectal, multiple myeloma, lymphoma and chronic le

3 Major Areas to Focus on After Receiving NCQA PCMH Recognition

First off, congratulations to you and your practice for achieving National Committee for Quality Assurance Patient-Centered Medical Home recognition! Gaining NCQA PCMH status is a big accomplishment for which you should be very proud. Now that you’ve completed the necessary steps to implement changes and earn recognition, you may be wondering what’s next. In this guide, we’ll navigate what to do next, PCMH standards and guidelines to follow and 2024 annual reporting requirements to focus on. Let’s get into it! What to do after earning NCQA PCMH recognition Before you’re ready to start earning the great benefits of PCMH recognition , you need to plan what actions you’ll take to maintain your status. Remember, PCMH is not a project, but a continual progression of the way care is delivered to patients, meeting them where they are. So, if you’re a practice that wishes to keep its PCMH, you’ll need to be accountable for each criterion you achieved when initially receiving PCMH recognition.